Strokestown International Shortlist announced

The shortlist of the Strokestown International Prize has just been announced below by the judges, Paddy Bushe and Maura Dooley.

Tony Barnstone, California, U.S.A., (“American Spoken Here”)

Marianne Burton, London, U.K., (“Worm in Exile”)

Geraldine Clarkson, Warwickshire, U.K., (“Ironing Veils”)

Majella Cullinane, Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand (“Op Shop, 1985”)

Beatrice Garland, London, U.K., (“Leaving Home”)

Simon Lewis, Carlow, Ireland (“Conception”)

Patrick Maddock, New Ross, Co. Wexford, Ireland (“The Fen Woman’s Redress”)

Eamon McGuinness, Dublin 14, Ireland (“That’s my Body”)

Jacqueline Saphra, London, U.K., (“Cherry Stones”)

Pnina Shinebourne, London, U.K., (“The Life I Left”)


Congratulations to the shortlistees, and thanks to everyone who entered.  The prize winner will be announced at the 19th Festival on the week end of April 27th – May 1st 2017.

Leave a Reply