Strokestown International Poetry Prize Results 2020

This Competition is now closed. The shortlist has been announced. Winners will be announced on Sunday 3rd May at 6pm here on the website.

Sponsored by: Lawrence & Janet Kessenich, Grace Rickard, James Hoban

Strokestown International Poetry Prize 2020

Judges 2020

Enda Wyley

ENDA WYLEY is a poet, teacher, and children’s author. She has published five collections of poetry with Dedalus Press; Borrowed Space, New and Selected Poems (2014), To Wake to This (2009), Poems for Breakfast (2004), Socrates in the Garden (1998), and Eating Baby Jesus (1993). A sixth collection, The Painter on his Bike, is due from Dedalus Press, November 2019. Wyley was the inaugural winner of the Vincent Buckley Poetry Prize, Australia and in 2014 she was awarded a Patrick and Katherine Kavanagh Fellowship for her poetry. Her poetry has been widely broadcast, translated, and anthologised including in The Harvard Anthology of Modern Irish Poetry (USA, 2010), The Wake Forest Book of Irish Poetry, (Wake Forest Press, USA, 2011, Femmes d'Irlande en Poésie, 1973-2013 (Paris, ed. Clíona Ní Ríordáin), and Lines of Vision, The National Gallery of Ireland, (2014). She has been poet-in-residence for many arts projects and institutions in Ireland including Dearcán na nDaoine/The People’s Acorn, 2016-2017 for Áras an Uachtaráin, and The Bealtaine Poetry and Film Project 2018, with artist Anita Groener. Wyley’s books for children include I Won’t Go to China! and The Silver Notebook, O’Brien Press. Her poetry for children has been included in anthologies such as Something Beginning with P (O’Brien Press) and Once Upon A Place, (ed. Eoin Colfer, Little Island).
Enda Wyley lives in Dublin and is a member of Aosdána.


John F. Deane

John F DeaneJOHN F. DEANE was born on Achill Island and now lives in Dublin. He founded Poetry Ireland and The Poetry Ireland Review in 1978. He is the recipient of the O’Shaughnessy Award for Irish Poetry and the Marten Toonder Award for Literature. He is a member of Aosdána. His most recent collection, Dear Pilgrims (June), explores redemption and renewal of the Christian belief in a decisively secular age.
Born Achill Island 1943; founded Poetry Ireland - the National Poetry Society - and The Poetry Ireland Review, 1979; Published several collections of poetry and some fiction; Won the O’Shaughnessy Award for Irish Poetry, the Marten Toonder Award for Literature and poetry prizes from Italy and Romania. Shortlisted for both the T.S.Eliot prize and The Irish Times Poetry Now Award, won residencies in Bavaria, Monaco and Paris. His poetry collection The Instruments of Art came from Carcanet in 2005;  The Heather Fields and Other Stories, Blackstaff Press 2007. Poetry collection, A Little Book of Hours, Carcanet 2008. In October 2010, a new novel, Where No Storms Come, was published by Blackstaff Press and in December Columba Press published a book of essays, The Works of Love, a study of poetry, ecology and Christianity. New poetry collection, Eye of the Hare, published by Carcanet in June 2011. A New and Selected Poems, titled Snow Falling on Chestnut Hill was published by Carcanet in October 2012, and in March 2015, Columba Press published a unique memoir, Give Dust a Tongue: A Faith and Poetry Memoir. May 2015 saw the publication of another collection of poetry, from Carcanet, entitled Semibreve. 2016 will see the publication of a new collection, from Carcanet, Dear Pilgrims.     He is a member of Aosdána.