Roscommon Poets’ Shortlist announced

The Shortlist of the Roscommon Poets’ prize 2017 has just been announced below, by the Judge, Jessamine O’Connor.


Louise G. Cole, Moyne, Ballaghaderreen (“Fragments of Forgetfulness”);

Susan Graham, Foxford, Co. Mayo (“Broken not Bowed on the Ballaghaderreen Bypass”);

Laurence Henson, Church Street, Strokestown (“Taking Sides”);

Monika Kaboth, Cloonslanor, Strokestown (“Oktober”);

Maureen Lydon, Ballintubber, Castlerea (“Mysterious Alder”);

Catherine Ryan, Trien, Castlerea (“Folding Fingers”);

Frankie Simon, The Plains, Boyle (“Earthquake”).


Thanks to all who entered and Congratulations to the shortlist.  The winner will be announced at the 19th Strokestown International Poetry Festival on the week end of 27th April – 1st May 2017

Leave a Reply