Schools’ Poetry

Primary Schools

1st Sinéad McGreal, Lisacul NS, Castlerea            Night-time in the woods

2nd Caitríona Soares, St. Annes NS, Castlerea    I’m not free

3rd Alice Cribbin  Kilmurry NS, Castlerea             I would recommend



Secondary Schools

1st Cormac Lawlor, Abbey Community College, Boyle                                  Ropes

2nd Keelan Gallagher, Roscommon Community College, Roscommon    Surprises!

3rd Sadbh Farrell, Abbey Community College, Boyle                                    Summer in Kilmactranny



The Strokestown Poetry Prize (Category 1)

1st Prize     John Murphy,  Dublin, Ireland                                               The Nod

2nd Prize  Miriam Gamble,  Edinburgh,  Scotland.                                Betty Staff’s

3rd Prize Pat Winslow, Oxon, UK                                                               Goat Symphony, Southdown




The Percy French Prize for comic verse


1st Dee Gaynor,  Kent, England             Pant-up Frustration

2nd Siobhan Flynn, Dublin, Ireland     The Ballad of Daisy McHugh

3rd Peter Goulding, Dublin, Ireland     The oul wans up above in Ballinrobe







Roscommon Poets’ Prize


1st. Catherine Ryan, Trien, Castlerea. “Remnants”.

2nd. Laurence Henson, Strokestown. “One-Off”.

3rd. Louise Cole, Ballaghaderreen. “Yellow Brick Road”.


Duais Filíochta Dhúbhglas de hÍde – The Douglas Hyde Irish Language Poetry Prize

1st Prize   Padraig Breandán Ó Laighin       Turas


Pub Poetry Competition 2015

1 Beefeaters Inc.  –  Rose Morris Central Bar
2 The Fuel Merchant from Hell – Henry Owens Franks Ballybeg
3 One Tonic & Gin – Sean O’Neill Percy French Hotel
Bypass Surgery – Mike DeJong Franks Ballybeg
Healthy & Fit – Susie Spollin Beirnes Bar
Harry & Daphne – Geoff Cooper Hanleys Bar
Mary Padian – Sportsman’s